Non-Participation: The Nth Degree


imagesWell I believe in doing this blog I’ve said just about all I can say, I am already repeating myself quite a bit. So this “last post” is going to cover something I’ve not talked about in quite some time, and that is non-participation, it’s a big deal. Oh, what I mean by ‘last post’ is I’m not going to be addressing the subjects the same anymore, expect anything, but this is the last educating post. If you don’t believe or like what I been saying then…well, whatever. But if you should happen to agree in some manner, then perhaps this discussion will put it all into a singularity. It boils down to this, I can’t save the world, but I don’t have to participate in its destruction.

Yeah OK, what’s that mean? In recent post I’ve discussed the issue of relying on government to save the day. I’ve said that if you lined up all the congress’s of the world with totally environmental, social justice, anti-capitalists representatives, but didn’t have a changed public or more precisely a super majority of the public in line with this sort of congress, then you may as well line up congress with a whole set of Ted Cruz’s. Well, I said it sorta like that, but with a bit more emphasis this time. In short, it’s us, you and me, that have to change, not congress, they’ll change when we do.

So, here we’re gonna talk about what that change precisely is. I’ve alluded many times to people needing to plant food, catch water from their roofs, reduce their income and many other things along this subject. But what I want to do here is create the name or the label that identifies this action, I call it non-participation. And the idea behind that term is that we’ve concluded that economic growth and the free enterprise system of economics has failed and is more or less a deadly system for civilization to endure, therefore it needs to be shut down. We also can clearly see the government is no way going to shut down this system, cuz they and their corporate bosses are the root backbone of the system. What sustains that system is market activity. What will bust that system is a lack of participation in said market activity. You don’t buy it, they won’t make it.

I could stop here cuz it really is as simple as that last sentence in that last paragraph. The deal is it’s a god damn hard thing to do, especially to get a super majority of the global population to do it. Most will say, “Yeah like I want to reduce the size of my house from 3000 square feet to just 800. and oh, I gotta give up the rest of my space to the needy, yeah right.” I ain’t gonna spend words on the details of non-participation; really, it is self explanatory. The idea is too remove yourself from participating in the ways and means of the free market system as far as you are able. We have to be real, you can’t just jump out of your BMW and your 20 acre compound and onto an old bicycle heading to a “van down by the river”. However, you can try, can’t you? I mean, goes as far to that place as you can, cuz see, that’s kinda where we all gotta go, at least for a time.

If you need a road map for this, there is one very easy guide: money. The less money you have, the less you’ll be participating.  Believe me, this is not being over simplistic, it is a fact, the surest and quickest way to be uninvolved with the system is to not have much of the substance that moves you through it. Cuz see, that’s the whole idea behind the free market system, to move money around, it needs you to do that. The more money you have, the more involved with the system you are, even when it is just sitting in the bank and being used to fund charities. “ALL” money spent, from whatever source, will be money spent again on sources that are bad. It’s just the way it works, it’s the math that runs our world, and it’s a deadly math. Want to stop it? Then don’t have much money.

Oh yes, there is so much more to non-participation, but the idea is quite elementary. You get it already I’m sure. It’s the difficulty, that’s the bitch. The sacrifice, the pain, yeah, it’s a fucking ordeal. If everybody started doing it real soon and real quick, then chaos will be assured. But see, there is no way at this point we will avoid chaos, either we’ll start up the chaos ourselves and control its magnitude, or we’ll let it catch up to us and blow us off the planet, it’s our choice.

My personal life has attempted to demonstrate this non-participation thingy. I live in a tiny shack, catch and haul water, have an outdoor compost toilet, live on less than 10K per year, all that. But I could take it much further, however, I won’t. It’s too hard. But I can say I am doing my best to be a non-participant in the insanity of free enterprise. And I don’t really give a shit if my impact is worthless in the scheme of things. Because I can’t participate in this system without regret and depression anyway, so I do it regardless of outcome.  Knowledge, in this case, is my demise concerning wealth. I can’t pursue wealth while carrying in my head what I know about wealth. It’s impossible. Hopefully, the rest of the world can be faced with this demise and accept it. Sounds like miracle to me though, but maybe.

Return to Evolve Now

About dannyheim

I am a nut. But a good nut. Please note that all my blogs are continually in the process of being edited. You most likely would see changes if you visit back again more than once. Oh, I'm an artist by trade these days, so ahh anyway, um, ah well, my website is on here somewhere, um ah, wella anyway it's ah, http://dannyheim.com./. It's not a buying type site, don't worry, I don't market from there.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Non-Participation: The Nth Degree

  1. Here’s how I expressed the non-participation philosophy:

  2. George Gore says:

    From your last paragraph: “Knowledge, in this case, is my demise concerning wealth. I can’t pursue wealth while carrying in my head what I know about wealth. It’s impossible. Hopefully, the rest of the world can be faced with this demise and accept it. Sounds like miracle to me though, but maybe.” I share your condition, have done so since 1965. Hang in. In the end you will have no regrets.

  3. amirlach says:

    “And the idea behind that term is that we’ve concluded that economic growth and the free enterprise system of economics has failed and is more or less a deadly system for civilization to endure, therefore it needs to be shut down. We also can clearly see the government is no way going to shut down this system, cuz they and their corporate bosses are the root backbone of the system. What sustains that system is market activity. What will bust that system is a lack of participation in said market activity. You don’t buy it, they won’t make it.”

    While it has failed in many places, due to over taxation and over spending. This is not the case everywhere. Sound fiscal policy and management can do incredibly well. Mainly by doing the opposite of what the “experts” say works.

    Growing food is likely the most beneficial thing one can do for his fellow man. Well only if your growing more than you personally need. This Province of just over 1 Million people export a lot more food than what they personally consume. So yeah having your own little patch of earth to grow your own food on is nice, but it’s not very helpful to your fellow man.

    “Food security is a pressing concern in emerging markets. Saskatchewan is the bread basket of Canada. Combine the two, factor in the leadership of Premier Brad Wall, and the result is the exponential growth in exports that the province has seen in just one year.”

Leave a comment